TOP 5 Best Electric Gate Openers of 2017

Home page Gate OpenerWelcome to Gate Openers Reviews, your premier source for reviews of the most functional and reliable gate openers currently on the market. Our goal is to provide you with all of the information you need to choose an automatic gate opener that will suit your needs and fit your gate perfectly. Here our site you will give you the cold hard truth because let’s face it if an opener doesn’t work right it worthless and not worth having on your gate. We’ve compiled a list of the best gate openers below based on multiple categories. We’ve tested as many as possible to compile this list and these are the best performers.

For more customer reviews click on the star rating by each unit to read more customer reviews. This helps many buyers get a better idea of what types of projects these plasma cutters are being used for. Let’s get started!

Click on the “More Info” button or the review titles to view the Amazon page where we found the best price for these items.

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

fm500                                
Screen shot 2013-12-18 at 7.44.01 PM

The Mighty Mule FM500Screen shot 2013-12-21 at 10.34.19 PM

The Mighty Mule FM500 is a single gate opener that has preformed flawlessly for us over the last few months. To start this unit features the Might Mule name which is known for it durability, torque and reliability. Secondly the Fm500 was breeze to install with the included installation videos which can be viewed here as well as the written documentation. The reason the FM500 made it to the number one spot on our list is becasue it is the best unit overall that we’ve tested. It’s more powerful than the FM200, it’s install is a breeze and the price tag is just right. Overall we awarded this unit our #1 spot on our top 5 list because you simply can’t go wrong with this gate opener. Full Review»

Brand: Mighty Mule

Type of Gate: Swing Gate

Number of Gates: Single

Gate Length: Up to 18 feet

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

fm200                                
Screen shot 2013-12-18 at 7.44.09 PM

The Mighty Mule FM200 Screen shot 2013-12-21 at 10.34.31 PM

The Mighty Mule Fm200 is an awesome small budget gate opener made for small swing gates around the farm, house or business. We like this unit for two reasons. First, FM200 is small and compact making it easy to attach to single car gates and farm gates. Second, the price of the Fm200 is more than reasonable and you won’t be spending extra money for an overly large gate opener. We were presently surprised at the power of the FM200 and it worked amazingly well on our single car gate. Our gate was on an incline which we thought would hinder it’s performance, but it had no problems. The install was very easy using the included videos. Overall a very nice unit with a name brand that you can trust. That why we awarded it our best budget number 2 spot on our top 5 list. Full Review»

Brand: Mighty Mule

Type of Gate: Swing Gate

Number of Gates: Single

Gate Length: Up to 12 feet

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Sentry 300                                
Screen shot 2013-12-18 at 7.44.20 PM

USAutomatic Sentry 300 S Commercial Grade Automatic Gate Opener  Screen shot 2013-12-21 at 10.34.19 PM

The Sentry 300 was one of the highest quality and strongest gate openers that we tested this year. This unit is a work horse and we predict will have the longest life span of all of the units. The Sentry is the most expensive single gate opener that we tested, but you definitely get a higher quality unit for the extra money you are spend. We are awarded this unit our number 3 spot on our top 5 list and gave it our best performance label as it out performed the rest of the units we tested. If the Sentry 300 fits your budget you will not be disappointed with it’s performance. Full Review»

Brand: USAutomatic

Type of Gate: Swing Gate

Number of Gates: Single

Gate Length: Up to 20 feet

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Aleka AC1400                                        

Screen shot 2013-12-18 at 7.44.32 PM

Aleko AC1400 Electric Sliding Gate OpenerScreen shot 2013-12-18 at 7.42.49 PM

When compiling our top 5 list we tested all types of gate openers and wanted to inlcude a sliding gate system in order to accommodate everyone’s needs. Upon testing we found that the Aleko AC1400 was our number one choice out of all of the units we tested. Upon installing this unit we noticed that all of the hardware was included and unit itself felt very solid. The install process was easy, but did require some tools so be aware of that and plan accordingly. The Aleko ran like a charm and through our testing we had to problems with this unit whatsoever. Full Review»

Brand: Aleko

Type of Gate: Sliding Gate

Number of Gates: Single

Gate Length: Up to 40 feet

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

US Automatic Solar Charged Gate Opener                                
Screen shot 2013-12-18 at 7.44.47 PM

USAutomatic Medium 300 Solar Charged Automatic Gate Opener Double Gate Basic Kit  Screen shot 2013-12-21 at 10.34.31 PM

Last, but certainly not least we have the US Automatic Dual Gate Solar system. Where do we start? IT’S SOLAR! This opener is great for gates that are no where near any type of power source. We set this unit up on a dual set of chain link gates located on the back of our property and were very pleased. They have plenty of power to open our 12 foot gates and the solar held a great charge. The install of this gate was fairly easy and the overall opening time was about 12 seconds. We award this unit our editor’s choice award because although its more expensive than the other units it packs a whole lot more functionality.  Full Review»

Brand: USAutomatic

Type of Gate: Swinging Gate

Number of Gates: Dual Gates

Gate Length: Up to 18 feet each

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

The Reason You Should Invest In A Quality Gate Opener

When purchasing a gate opener it is important not to skimp out and purchasing something under powered. This is for two reasons…

  • The opener will wear out quickly
  • Your gates will take longer to open

We highly recommend that you purchase a gate opener that supports the length and weight of your gate to insure the best experience. Another common mistake we’ve found is that many people have poorly supported gates that sag which causes the gate opener to not function properly. This can actually damage your unit so we highly recommend you make sure your gate is well reinforced before installing your unit. If you follow these precautions then you’re sure to have a long lasting reliable gate opener!